CPI Lab Members win Outstanding Transit Innovation Award

CPI Director Erik Johnston, CPI Affiliate Eric Hekler, and CPI Postdoctoral Fellow John Harlow were part of the Proposition 104/Transportation 2050 team that was nominated and selected for the Outstanding Transit Innovation Award, which will be awarded at the upcoming AzTA Conference in Flagstaff on Tuesday, April 12th

The ASU team members, led by Dr. John Harlow,​ with Professors Eric Hekler and Erik Johnston and graduate student Zoë Yeh, collaborated with Phoenix’s Public Transit and Street Transportation ​Departments and the Citizens Committee on the Future of Phoenix Transportation (CCFPT) in the development of the recently passed 2050 transportation plan (Proposition 104).​ This proposal funds ​the next 35 years of transportation in Phoenix with an estimated $31.5 billion raised through a 0.7% citywide sales tax. The plan covers expanded bus service hours, increased bus service frequency, complete streets investments, and new bus and light rail routes. For their efforts, each member of the ASU team received a letter of "highest commendation and appreciation” signed by Deputy City Manager, Rick Naimark, and the Directors of the Public Transit and Street Transportation Departments.